Starting today, visitors entering the United States from 36 nations will have to fork over an additional $14 at the border. That's because the Travel Promotion Act, which was passed to raise funds to help promote tourism to the United States, goes into effect today. 


Actually $10 of that fee will goes toward a fund to help promote the good old USA, while the remaining $4 will cover operating costs that come with registering foreigners into the Electronic System for Travel Authorization. 


The 36 nations affected by the new rules are countries that allow visits to the US for up to 90 days without a visa. Once someone pays the $14 fee, they will be covered for two years for travel to the States. The 36 nations include:


  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark/Greenland/Faroe Islands
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands/Netherlands Antilles/Aruba
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom


Source: CNN 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

About The Author